Alpine Convention Young Academics Award 2018
fanes 2704749 640Students from all disciplines are invited to submit their Master's theses on the topic of 'Sustainable Water Management in the Alps' for a chance of winning a EUR 1,000 prize. 

Research and innovation are key elements for promoting sustainable development in the Alps, and young academics play a crucial role in shaping the future of the Alps. The aim of the Young Academics Award is to recognize this key role by awarding outstanding master theses carried out on relevant Alpine topics. 

Water is an important and delicate topic in the Alps as well as in their surrounding regions. Residents rely on water for a number of different uses, from drinking water to the provision of ecosystem services, from the generation of energy to the provision of tourism services. At the same time, water is an endangered resource, because of the seasonal variations in its quantity and to the threats to its quality due, for example, to pollution. Furthermore, the need to find a balance between the use and the protection of Alpine waters and the need to look for innovative solutions in order to ensure the sustainable use of water are key topics in the framework of the many Alpine Convention activities related to green economy.

This edition of the Alpine Convention Young Academics Award therefore focuses on the issue of 'Sustainable Water Management in the Alps' and particularly, but not limited to, on the related sub-topics: 
  • Analysis and solutions for conflicting uses of water among different sectors (tourism, agriculture, energy production etc.).
  • Abundance of water and scarcity of water.
  • Sustainable water management and efficient water use.
Contributions from students from all disciplines are encouraged. Submitted Master’s theses must have been completed between 1 January 2016 and 31 October 2018.

Three main prizes will be awarded by the Austrian Presidency and the Permanent Secretariat of the Alpine Convention:
  • 1st prize: EUR 1,000
  • 2nd prize: EUR 750
  • 3rd prize: EUR 500
Four additional 'Infopoint prizes' will be awarded for works thematically relevant and geographically dedicated to the following infopoint areas: 
The deadline for applications is 31 October 2018.

Full details of requirements and admission criteria, as well as the overview of the selection process, can be viewed and downloaded here. 

To apply, fill out the online application form.

This initiative is supported by the Austrian Presidency of the Alpine Convention, the Permanent Secretariat of the Alpine Convention and by the Infopoints of the Alpine Convention Domodossola (Italy), Grand Paradis (Italy), Morbegno (Italy) and Tolmin (Slovenia). The initiative is in collaboration with ISCAR.