The African Great Lakes Conference

2-5 May 2017, Entebbe, Uganda

The conference is targeting policy makers, development and funding agencies, scientific leaders and community, media and private sector groups. These stakeholders will also collaborate on finding solutions to pressing lake basin issues in the region and commit to an ongoing dialogue about how to effectively address them. The African Great Lakes Conference (AGLC) is spearheaded by the African Great Lakes initiative led by The Nature Conservancy (TNC) in collaboration with the Lake Tanganyika Authority.

The conference will address the following themes through keynote speakers, concurrent sessions, discussion panels, and poster sessions:

· Ecosystem Services and Biodiversity Benefits

· Sustainable Fisheries and Aquaculture Management

· Climate Change Impacts, Mitigation and Adaptation

· Population Dynamics, Health and the Environment

· Balancing Conservation and Development

· Governance and Financing

The African Great Lakes region is one of the most extraordinary places on Earth. It holds almost one-third of the world’s fresh surface water, covering over 850,000 square kilometers across 11 countries. The African Great Lakes region spans the countries of Burundi, Democratic Republic of Congo, Ethiopia, Kenya, Malawi, Mozambique, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, and Zambia. The seven major lake basins in the region are Lake Albert, Lake Edward, Lake Kivu, Lake Malawi/Nyasa/Niassa, Lake Tanganyika, Lake Turkana, and Lake Victoria. The idea is that government leaders, regional and basin authorities, inter-governmental organizations, development and funding agencies, non-governmental organizations, community groups and the private sector will meet to find sustainable solutions for the pressing challenges in the African Great Lakes region.